It is currently Thu Nov 27, 2014 4:25 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: What Is Wrong With My Neon?
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 10:21 pm 
Neon Enthusiast

First of all this is my first time using this site. I have a 2002 Neon base model(Manual Transmission) that is having some problems.
I bought the car a year ago from a private person and the car ran beautifully.
After about three months the car started acting strange.
Here is the problem and only sometimes (doesn't make a difference whether it is cold or warm). My car will sometimes bog down under acceleration (all gears), pop out of the intake when pushing on gas, and just plain feels like it is going no where. This is the only way that I know how to explain what I feel. Like I said it only occurs sometimes and not at a specific temp. Also the bogging does go away at higher RPM's.
All of the mechanics that I have gone to tell me to wait until a check engine light comes on but I am getting to annoyed to wait any longer.
We always keep the car tuned up plus we have replaced the :
Throttle position sensor
IAC motor
Timing Belt
Crank Sensor
Camshaft position sensor
PCV valve
Coil Pack
Manifold Gaskets
Tube Seals
Purge solenoid
Tested wires
Numerous spark plugs, wires once
I have also had the compression tested, fuel pressure tested, cat tested, and a smoke test done to look for vacuum leaks.
Please let me know if you have any ideas
My next idea revolves around replacing the PCM?
Due to possible timing advanced problems?

Post subject: Re: What Is Wrong With My Neon?
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 11:31 pm 
Global Moderator

How about a vacuum test ??
I am assuming that may have been done already, but if not, I'd like to hear what the 'dynamic' results are, on the road.

My thoughts are, that you may have a stuck intake valve, or an issue with the valvetrain, that is causing the issue. ( probably on the intake side. )

- Nick

-2000 Ply.LX with MTX = Maddog STS; CAI; Magnaflow muffler