It is currently Mon Oct 20, 2014 11:17 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Trouble codes... Im new to my Neon
PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2012 1:23 am 
New

Well hello readers, Im new to my neon but first time for everything. Any way here is a quick rundown of the car, and my dilemma and i hope to receive so insight.

I bought a 2000 Neon automatic (3 SPEED) with 166,000 miles from my step sister who has had it for 5 years.

For 5 years the check engine light has been on and I finally took it (now that it's mine) to be tested.

I went to 3 different places to see if the results would change. Here is the results of my stops.

1.autozone trouble codes were (P0743,P0137)
2. superlube trouble codes were (P0743,P0137)
3.discount auto trouble codes were (P0743,P0137,P1899)

I bought a Haynes repair manual and here is what I know...

P0743=Open or shorted condition detected in torque converter clutch solenoid control circuit
P0137=Downstream oxygen sensor input voltage below normal operating range.
P1899 is not in the Haynes manual so I don't know what that is. I only got that code once.

Ive seen forum posts about the TCC solenoid and I will check the plug-in condition first.

I suppose my main question is are the two common codes (p0743 and p0137) related?...should I spend the money and replace the 2nd oxygen sensor? I planned on spending $135.00 at a mechanic to have them run a full computer test to locate the source of the "open or shorted" circuit. They said it could be a frayed wire or the parts could actually be bad themselves....anyone have suggestions?

Post subject: Re: Trouble codes... Im new to my Neon
PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2012 5:31 am 
Neon Enthusiast

I just fixed my 2001 with a P0743 code and after 2 new solenoids and about a week of working on it I found a bad wire in the harness. Be sure to check wires carefully before dumping parts into these cars!!!

95 sohc atx circle track and fig 8 car (totaled)