It is currently Sun Oct 26, 2014 2:27 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Let's talk axles and swaps!
PostPosted: Mon Nov 30, 2009 8:24 pm 
Site Supporter

OK after frakking about with a buddies SRT-4 hubs and freaky axles I took his SRT-4 axle out and measured it. It's 21 inches long in a "relaxed" state, when stood on end.

Does anyone have the length of the stock Neon passenger axles? I figure that with THAT knowledge, we can set up a database (Sorry, I'm an Analyst by trade :grin: ) of what WORKS and what doesn't. And make it easier on everyone. Part numbers, make and model if you know it are a PLUS.

1. OEM 2005 SRT-4 Drivers side (equal length of course) is 21 inches, and TIGHT
2. Shadow Drivers side is O.K. though not much play and not so much negative camber available. No measurements at this time.

Feel free to chime in or ad comments. I'll add it to the top post so it's all easy to find. If we get enough to make it worthwhile I can create interactive forms, and even Access Databases and such.

Mark

Post subject: Re: Let's talk axles and swaps!
PostPosted: Mon Nov 30, 2009 11:32 pm 
Neon Mechanic

jspata17 wrote:
im not that dumb. i cant tell the difference between a inch pound and foot pound torque wrench.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2009 4:23 pm 
Site Supporter

Holy CRAP! That's good information!! I've never seen it before :good:

Can we take these numbers to the bank? How is compressed length measured?

Mark

PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2009 5:00 pm 
Sponsoring Dealer

I'll be using GT-Cruiser equal-length Axles w/ second gen hubs in a first gen chassis. If you want measurements on how much play there is, or axle "relaxed" to "extended" lengths, or how much camber before binding, or whatever, I can do that for ya...

PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2009 7:38 pm 
Neon Enthusiast

Super D that is very helpful. I thought the passenger side equal length axles were like the Shelby dodge axles. Both sides identical. Both ends male.