How To: Stronger Shifter Cables

Kyle
Neon Enthusiast

How To: Stronger Shifter Cables

Post by Kyle » Wed Apr 03, 2002 3:50 pm

Discliamer first. I am not affiliated in any way with any of the companies or individuals listed in this how to; I simply recomend what has worked for me. I am convinced that the rod end setup is the strongest possible shifter cable setup but I won't promise it will never break, and I am now slightly worried about the strength of the transmission ends of the cables. (What can I say, I do failure analysis for a living. Anything can break, and the minute you say it never will is the minute it will break.)

A little background to begin with. I had a B&M short shifter and CNNP bushings. I loved the feel of them together, however I broke two sets of shifter cables in six months, and a new set of calbes cost about $140-$180 from a dealer. It is always the selector cable that breaks. (The cable on the right of the stick if you are sitting in the front seats.) I went ahead and "bulletproofed" both the selector and transverse cables, but you only really need to do the selector cable. I have never heard of a transverse cable breaking. I have also recently replaced the bushings in the tranny end of my cables with Booger Bushings. They are still stiff, but not quite as stiff as CNNP bushings. Click Here for info on the Boogers. Jeff is a great guy to work with and is more than willing to just sell the two bushings that go in the tranny end of the cables. I haven't tried using the rod end setup with stock bushings, but I think it would wear out the stock bushings in no time flat. So I would recomend either of the two aftermarket bushings in the tranny end.

Materials list:
two 5/16" male spherical rod ends
1/4" die and handle
two threaded adaptors both 5/8" outside diameter:
one one inch long threaded half way thru with 1/4" threads the other half 5/16" threads.