Can I use Penzoil Synchromesh Fluid in my Neon

san26141
New

Can I use Penzoil Synchromesh Fluid in my Neon

Post by san26141 » Thu Jun 17, 2004 3:38 pm

I have a '96 Neon DOHC with a manual tranny. Can I use Pennzoil Synchromesh Fluid? It has a Chrysler part number of 4874464 and the spec on the Neon is 4874465.

GQ
Neon Enthusiast

Post by GQ » Thu Jun 17, 2004 4:25 pm

I've been using it for 2 months now without any problems. I did not notice a difference over Mopar OEM fluid other than being cheaper.

Damnit, Laverty
Retired Moderator

Post by Damnit, Laverty » Mon Mar 06, 2006 2:54 pm

Yes. The part numbers cross over.

I just found this out myself, I was shocked as all hell while reading on NASIOC to see a very familiar ChryCo part number cross my eyes. :)

Thank god, I don't have to spend 13/qt or 9 for MTL any more. w00t!

The information presented here is gathered from the documents listed in the References section below.

Pennzoil-Quaker State Synchromesh is a unique transmission and transaxle fluid that is not API "GL" rated. It has an approximate gear oil grade of about SAE 80W and can be used when temperatures range from -40ºF (-40ºC) to 300ºF (150ºC). According to Pennzoil's product description it is "formulated with high quality paraffinic base stocks, a fluidity modifier, multifunctional performance additives, corrosion inhibitors, a foam suppressor and a shear stable viscosity index improver additive. It provides excellent oxidation stability, low temperature performance, excellent synchronizer performance and compatibility with yellow metals, such as bronze, brass and copper components found in manual transaxles and transmissions." This description makes Synchromesh suitable for use in some transaxles or transmissions where GL-4 gear oils are specified.